Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Rules Questions.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • hrogarofthehighbasin
    started a topic Rules Questions.

    Rules Questions.

    Can half-orc shamanic totems be interpreted/understood by non half-orcs? As in, if a half orc had necromancy Bestial Claws, would it ping as necromancy for certain Taboo Barriers? Would it be searchable by a search count for scrolls or Necromancy? Can a magically inclined Non Half-orc be able to use one?

  • hrogarofthehighbasin
    replied
    Where may the OOP "Appraisal List" mentioned in the Universals section under Mercantilism be found?

    Leave a comment:


  • Sam Carollo
    replied
    Originally posted by Matthew View Post

    Which spell effects stack? Two schools of bestial claws don't, but does infernal strength and potion of strength stack?

    Similar enchantments effects do not stack. Increased HP, weapon damage, ect.
    1) Untyped weapon damage, same typed weapon damage, or all weapon damage?

    If you have Magic Enchantment (+2 Magic Damage) and Radiant Arms (+1 Holy Damage) and a base of 1, what are you calling for damage?

    2) What about coatings? Can you stack coatings?

    3) It says Strikes cannot be used with other strikes or abilities that grant attack modifiers. Does this mean activated abilities or any abilities like enchantments or coatings that are already active? If you have a base of 1 and Magic Enchantment (+2 Magic Damage) Power Strike (+10 Damage) with a weapon that already had a coating of Alchemist Fire (+15 Fire to next hit) what is properly called?

    4) What is the proper definition of an "Attack Modifier", is that calling a tagline for it like Innate or Fire, or is that adding damage to it, or is it both?

    5) It says an IA used for universals can be used for multiple Universal Advantages at once, but only one item can be scrapped or created per IA. So generating resources like gathering materials and kopecs for profession are not considered item creation, correct? In one Universal IA I could: Gather 3 resources using a prospecting map, Research a thing, Make 5 kopecs for selling your body, and build a crossbow (Providing I had Tier I Gathering, Scholar, Profession: Hooker, and Tinkerer)?

    6) Can materials gained in an IA be used in the subsequent or the same (Depending on the response to the previous question) IAs? Can I use metal I gathered in IA #1 to build armor in IA#2? Can I use bone gathered in IA #1 to build a dagger in IA #1?

    7) Can you have multiple Profession universals? Can I be Profession: Hooker and Profession: Dancer?

    8) How are duplicate spells handled in terms of spell knowledge. If you have all Tier I Necro spells, including Bestial Claws, and you start taking Nature Spells, do you need to purchase the Tier I Nature version of Bestial Claws to be able to move into Tier II Nature spells, or does the version of the same spell from another school count for having the spell?
    Last edited by Sam Carollo; 01-24-2018, 03:00 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Sephira
    replied
    Originally posted by Matthew View Post
    Is there a verbal change from Dark Sigil to Demonic Sigil, like there is when using Legion, and do Legion and Demonic Sigil stack.

    These are a lot of similar effects that I will check to make sure they are congruent. I'll get back to you on that.
    Cool Stuff, I'll be waiting.

    Leave a comment:


  • Matthew
    replied
    Does spirit shifting take SP to get out of? If so, would I have to wait for the effect to end to leave if I were out of SP? Do I leave ethereal when the time is up or stay ?

    Spirit Shift requires 2 spell points each time you cast it. Casting spirit shift while already in spirit from will bring you back to the physical world. Otherwise you must wait for the effect to end which will bring you back as well.

    Which spell effects stack? Two schools of bestial claws don't, but does infernal strength and potion of strength stack?

    Similar enchantments effects do not stack. Increased HP, weapon damage, ect.

    If a character with 5 or so strength breaks a +2 bind footsteps, do they have to declare future breaks or even stop to break said spell effect

    You would say break. But we are discussing if enough strength would allow the character to to just be immune to those binds. As well as rules involving being immune and what taglines to say.

    We might as well include the SP and Maneuver Point answers recently given on Facebook here. Advantages give their descriptions and the additional 1MP or 2 SP as is appropriate.

    Indeed, these advantages will be updated to reflect the proper amount of points given.

    When casting a spell, and a character has in-game knowledge of an alternative god/source of power, may said character use that source's name instead of those cited in the rulebook? For instance, my character is a priest of Vesta, who's magical domains are (as I was told by staff) black, blue, and white. May I use Vesta's name instead of say, The Abyss or Geb? May I use Adonis, Bindis, Dezrelawhosit depending upon appropriate domain? Or is it a flub?

    Currently you must say the proper verbal from the rulebook. However, I will get back to you on this part. We are working on ways of changing spell verbals in ways like you are suggesting.



    Is there a verbal change from Dark Sigil to Demonic Sigil, like there is when using Legion, and do Legion and Demonic Sigil stack.

    These are a lot of similar effects that I will check to make sure they are congruent. I'll get back to you on that.

    Leave a comment:


  • Sephira
    replied
    Is there a verbal change from Dark Sigil to Demonic Sigil, like there is when using Legion, and do Legion and Demonic Sigil stack. I assume that they do, but I want to verify.

    Leave a comment:


  • hrogarofthehighbasin
    replied
    When casting a spell, and a character has in-game knowledge of an alternative god/source of power, may said character use that source's name instead of those cited in the rulebook?
    For instance, my character is a priest of Vesta, who's magical domains are (as I was told by staff) black, blue, and white. May I use Vesta's name instead of say, The Abyss or Geb? May I use Adonis, Bindis, Dezrelawhosit depending upon appropriate domain? Or is it a flub?

    Leave a comment:


  • hrogarofthehighbasin
    replied
    We might as well include the SP and Maneuver Point answers recently given on Facebook here. Advantages give their descriptions and the additional 1MP or 2 SP as is appropriate.
    i.e. magic Boon gives 5 in total, spell knowledge gives two, and Expertise gives 1 + the level of expertise.

    Leave a comment:


  • hrogarofthehighbasin
    replied
    Does spirit shifting take SP to get out of? If so, would I have to wait for the effect to end to leave if I were out of SP? Do I leave ethereal when the time is up or stay ?
    Which spell effects stack? Two schools of bestial claws don't, but does infernal strength and potion of strength stack?
    If a character with 5 or so strength breaks a +2 bind footsteps, do they have to declare future breaks or even stop to break said spell effect?
    Last edited by hrogarofthehighbasin; 12-01-2017, 01:50 PM.

    Leave a comment:


  • Queen_Staff
    commented on 's reply
    1. Tree Meld - I feel like the fact that it doesn't say self only might have been an oversight as the rest of the spell description requires the caster to be touching an object. The entire spell description reads like a self-only casting to me.

    2. It is my current understanding that all magic purchases other than Magic Boons grant +2. This has been my basis of calculating SP totals for as long as I can remember. Spell Diversity, Spell Knowledge, may not give an actual spell for casting, but it still an AP spent to increase one's magical capabilities.

    3.It is my current understanding that expertise grants 2, on all counts. This has been my basis for calculating MP totals for as long as I can remember.

    4.The real question to answer, which would provide a better road to travel to answer this question is whether or not they can identify it. If bind magic sights allows a player to identify the source on the wheel for instance, you can add flavor such as color.. if they can identify tiers of magic, perhaps an intensity to the description.

    5. I'm almost positive you can.

    6. No clue.

    8. No. It is to my understanding that no more than 2 ranks may be purchased in any individual skill per update. This would include character creation. While there are, again to my knowledge, no tier restrictions on possessing universal skills, that has always been the kicker. But, I don't mind the increase in restriction to one per update, especially if they buy two at creation. The balance is, even if they are able to become a Tier 5 whatever at Tier 2 character level, navigating the game to be able to use those skills at Tier 5 levels either becomes impossibly difficult or super expensive. So, they've either got super good/rich friends, or they're sitting on spent AP for a while. I also like the idea of a teacher for higher level skills.

  • Matthew
    replied
    • 1. Tree Meld doesn't say self only, whereas Spirit Shift does. Does that mean Tree meld may be cast upon another target? If so, must they be willing?

      All of the new Spirit Shift abilities will be reviewed to make sure all of the proper targets are mentioned.

      2. Under the Spell Point subsection of Chapter 5's preface, it is stated that all advantages besides "Grey Magic" grant +2 to one's spell point "pool". Does this include grey magic advantages besides the base required advantage? I assume the Magic boon of +3 overrides the +2, but what of School Diversity, Spell Knowledge, and so on? (I think that they should grant one point at least, but I can understand 2 or none for simplicity's sake)

      "Grey Magic" refers to the specific advantage that grants the Tier 1 Grey Spell List which gives 4 points. All of the others are meant to grant SP. That will be reviewed.

      3. In a similar vein of thought, if one earns a maneuver Point with every maneuver advantage taken, does Expertise 1 grant one point or two? If one, why take it? Is it required for Expertise 2?

      Any advantaged numbered like Expertise 1...2...3 requires you purchase them in order. As with the spell points I will make sure that Expertise grants the proper amount of manuver points.

      4. Less of a rules question; more of a flavor question. What do characters see when using Bind Magic Sight? Is it a color effect based on wheel location? Is it immediate insight into the inner workings with a pretense of sight?

      I would imagine that the enchantments "seen" on items and people would have a similar color aura to the spell school or source it originated from.

      5. Can we get a link to the pdf of the rulebook on this site?

      Yes, you should also inform Teddy personally to see that it is done swiftly.

      6. Where'd the color wheel go in the Magic section?

      Formatting error. It will return.
    • 7. For a human, that spell tier is considered "finished" but I will make sure to add a clarification
    • 8. May universal advantages be purchased without concern for character tier? For example, may a character on creation have tier 4 holistics or, say, smith? (2 from universal, 2 from free spend)? There was/ there was meant to be a limit. I think you may only start the game with up to 2 in a tier of a universal, and may only purchase 1 point in a universal of the same type per update. Soon there will also be the addition to requiring a teacher at master or just grandmaster tier to use advantages of that tier.

    Leave a comment:


  • hrogarofthehighbasin
    replied
    8. May universal advantages be purchased without concern for character tier? For example, may a character on creation have tier 4 holistics or, say, smith? (2 from universal, 2 from free spend)?

    Leave a comment:


  • hrogarofthehighbasin
    replied
    7. I realize that this might be screwing my entire character concept once more by asking it, but say a human has access to tier 3 binding by having purchased three spells from both tier 1 and 2 Binding, being of the appropriate tier character, and it being their primary school, but wishes to purchase Abyssal Vitality (Black). Would the character have to purchase the remaining spells in previous tiers in order to purchase into adjacent schools? I'd really hope not, but I'd also rather there be clarification in rules as written.
    Last edited by hrogarofthehighbasin; 09-18-2017, 03:22 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • hrogarofthehighbasin
    replied
    1. Tree Meld doesn't say self only, whereas Spirit Shift does. Does that mean Tree meld may be cast upon another target? If so, must they be willing?
    2. Under the Spell Point subsection of Chapter 5's preface, it is stated that all advantages besides "Grey Magic" grant +2 to one's spell point "pool". Does this include grey magic advantages besides the base required advantage? I assume the Magic boon of +3 overrides the +2, but what of School Diversity, Spell Knowledge, and so on? (I think that they should grant one point at least, but I can understand 2 or none for simplicity's sake)
    3. In a similar vein of thought, if one earns a maneuver Point with every maneuver advantage taken, does Expertise 1 grant one point or two? If one, why take it? Is it required for Expertise 2?
    4. Less of a rules question; more of a flavor question. What do characters see when using Bind Magic Sight? Is it a color effect based on wheel location? Is it immediate insight into the inner workings with a pretense of sight?
    5. Can we get a link to the pdf of the rulebook on this site?
    6. Where'd the color wheel go in the Magic section?

    Leave a comment:


  • Chris
    replied
    1. A totem is akin to an Artisan crafted Sculpture in that the spell is 'encoded' on the totem. Because of this, scholars and casters of the appropriate schools can 'decipher' them for the purposes of identification. However, no Non Half-Orc caster has ever been known to use the totems of the Half-Orcs in casting. If that is at all possible or not is a question best answered by, Find Out In Play.

    2. The Taboo Barrier would have to specifically target Totems. But as it stands now, you cannot Taboo a particular spell scroll type. You must Taboo Spell Scrolls or Spell Trinkets.

    3. Holistics isn't designed to determine a race, at least not at Rank 1. A "Searching 10" count for "Racial Identity" would be permissible as it is not much different from otherwise counting or actively removing a facial dressing to see who is under there.

    4. Should certainly have the same name. You can only use the color of the school that you know the spell in. (Classically, Demons aren't shy about displaying their magical power...or where it comes from...it fits their hierarchical structure very well.)

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X